A Man After God’s Own Heart

‘God testified concerning him: ‘I have found David son of Jesse, a man after my own heart; he will do everything I want him to do.’  -Acts 13:22

There have no doubt been countless sermons, books, and other thought-pieces written on this subject, but the Holy Spirit shared a surprisingly obvious one with me a few days ago when I was in my daily reading of 2 Samuel.

As he walked he cried, “My son Absalom! O my son, my son Absalom! If only I had died instead of you! Absalom, my son, my son!” -2 Samuel 19:1

Absalom had done all sorts of evil against David, but he was still heartbroken over his son’s death. Absalom’s exploits make it evident he never loved his father or cared for anything but his own ambitions. He was David’s enemy, yet David was ready to trade his own life for their reconciliation at the news of his death. Don’t we see the heart of Christ here?

“For the Son of Man came to seek and save those who are lost.” -Luke 19:10

Every day we march one step closer to death, and the Word of God says death without faith in Jesus is an eternal one. That means no reconciliation with the One Who Loves Us. Knowing the end from the beginning, God’s Holy Heart pleads to us, begging that we accept His Death in our place so that we might live with Him forever. The Heart of God is truly a wonderful thing.

2 thoughts on “A Man After God’s Own Heart

Leave a comment